Skip to main content Skip to navigation
Polymer Composites Group (Kessler Research Team) 2013

Professor Kessler Elected Fellow of NATAS

2JLe8JIY1QZXtdfDmTpPhMtH1pnv0Rgu1QqTO9-JI5cProfessor Kessler was the 2013 recipient of the North American Thermal Analysis Society (NATAS) Fellows Award.  The award was presented August 7 at the 2013 NATAS Annual Conference in Bowling Green, Kentucky.  According to the NATAS website, the NATAS Fellows Award recognizes a history of distinguished scientific achievement, a significant technological accomplishment, and/or outstanding scholarship in the field of thermal analysis.

Research team moves to Washington State University

Aerial_7586Professor Kessler and four members of his research team, Tom Garrison, Vijay Kumar Thakur, Yuzhan Li, and Mitch Rock, have moved from Iowa State University to Washington State University (WSU) in August 2013.  Professor Kessler has been named the Berry Family Director of the School of Mechanical and Materials Engineering.  As school director, Professor Kessler is charged with providing leadership to define and advance the school’s academic and research agendas.

WSU Press Release: Kessler to direct School of Mechanical, Materials Engineering.

Iowa State team, led by Grewell and Kessler, wins grant for new bioplastics center

logo_retA new center that will research bioplastics and biocomposites is getting a boost from a planning grant from the National Science Foundation.  Read more in the Plastics News Report here.

The center, dubbed CB2, will conduct research that promotes industry-wide acceptance of biobased plastics and composites and increases the use of sustainable materials. Projects will look at all aspects in the development of biobased plastics including feedstock logistics; synthesis and compounding of materials; and economic and environmental analysis of new products.

NSF will provides management expertise and matching funds for the first five years with the potential for additional funding.

For information on CB2, see



Two group members awarded NASA fellowships


Congratulations to graduate students Eliseo De León and Mitch Rock for winning National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) research fellowships through the Iowa Space Grant Consortium program.  More information is available in an article in ISU’s INNOVATE online magazine (NASA story).